A year of work in progress – day 47

Day 47 – 12 March 2014

Management Wednesday and what is worse it was also password change day.  It used to be so easy, your pet’s name, your address or your favourite holiday destination.  Stick a number on the end if you needed to change it.  Now it has to have capitals, numbers, Cyrillic script and other symbols jumbled up in ways that would satisfy a GCHQ cryptographer and it changes every three months.  For weeks now I’ve known it was coming.  Then I’ve got to make sure I change my other devices so that they are in sync. 

I’ve been getting reminders, friendly at first but increasingly menacing and I can’t put it off any longer.  I’ll not tell you what I’ve chosen as that would defeat the object.

Senior Management Team was interesting as there were only three of us.  Bob was off and Steve was delivering one of our Customer Workshops.  Three is the absolute minimum to make us quorate but it’s difficult to get a real discussion going and the jokes aren’t as funny.  Speaking of laughs, we had three guests, Health and Safety, Audit and Risk Management.

Neil finished the Virginian Mason book and he brought me in another one which I’ll get round to.  Lee has now picked up the baton.

Over lunch I registered for the new car pool scheme which is going to reduce my own car mileage and save some money.  To become a member I had to print a copy of my aged driving licence and then fill in an online form.  Can people not help themselves when it comes to paper?  Why can’t they have started from a scanned position?

I was expecting trouble at RMT in the afternoon over a report and had lost some sleep the night before rehearsing my repost.  It was a brilliant piece of invective filled with wit and repartee but when the offending item came up it was passed by without comment.  It served me right for worrying.

Someone mentioned Big Data and so things are starting to stick.

East Durham rural Corridor AAP to talk about Digital Durham in the evening.

Learning points for today:   Cellophane does not count as paper; you can be in-kilter and not just out of it; having three in a meeting doesn’t make it any shorter and; the toothpaste is out of the tube.

Today’s enjoyment rating 8/10 – Always a heavy day.

One thought on “A year of work in progress – day 47

Leave a comment